Happy happy happy

As Platinum Annie can tell you, I have spent the last few weeks trying not to throw myself off of a damn building. My life is in a bit of a holding pattern right now, till the Good Lord decides to shift gears. And I’m not always okay with that, as I’m an obsessive compulsive planner (read: control freak) and I need everything to go my way. Right now.

When everything seems like it’s a disaster, it’s typically the little things in life that make you happy. I’ve noticed the past few days I must start my day with two things: Tim Hortons coffee and Ryan Bingham.

I have a sick obsession with Canada that stems from my serious hockey fandom days (high school and college). I’ve lived in Texas and California my whole life, yet have never been to Mexico, but have been to Canada…TWICE. Halifax and Calgary are two of my favorite places I’ve ever been. And Banff is just heaven on earth. During said visits I picked up a nasty habit…the Timbit. Sure, they’re just a varietal of donut holes to the average eye. But to those who’ve had them, they are crack coated balls of goodness. Yes, that’s what she said.

Timmy also has good coffee, which our girlfriend Charlene brings me every time she makes it to Tejas. She also brings me ketchup chips, which…that’s a whole other post, my friends. I recently discovered (thanks to Platinum Annie) the My K-Cup device, which allows me to use my stored up Timmy’s coffee in me Keurig (aka the greatest invention ever). This makes me happy…very happy.

And whilst sipping in my Timmy’s and driving to the sweatshop, I put on a little Bingham and life is good for seven whole miles.

“Take me to see the voodoo queen, let her put a spell on me…a little bit of change will ease my pain”

XO, Crazy Little Annie

Platinum Annie:  I couldn’t resist adding my two cents. 

Lots of things make me happy. Most recently, it was a 6 pack of Dr. Pepper made with Imperial Sugar:

Talk about a little slice of Heaven around 3 p.m.  Perfection in a can!!! (It’s a Southern thing folks).

I have so many things/people that make me happy. I have a great cowboy in my life, the most amazing daughter to walk the planet, awesome friends, family I can count on, a new job I love and the knowledge that God loves me in spite of myself! Other things that make me extremely happy include the music of King George, my high heel collection (it’s truly fab, but that’s another blog on its own), junk food, a cold beer on a hot day, etc.  But there are some intangible things….stuff you can’t exactly reach out and touch that make me happiest. First and foremost of those is the sound of my daughters giggles:

 L lost her hearing when she was 2 (docs don’t really know why). Even though she can’t hear herself giggle, she lives her life to the fullest and giggles happily at the simplest things–such as getting a kiss from her friend Callie.  This has to be the thing that makes me happiest. I love the sound of her giggles…it’s infectious.  Makes me instantly happy no matter how bad a day I’m having. Other, lesser  intangible things that make me happy include bonding with characters in a good book series, the sight of freshly baled hay as I drive down the highway (ok, I could probably reach and touch them, but it’s Texas–I’d either get shot for trespassing or stroke out from the heat), the smell of rain, the sight of baby calves interacting with their mamas (again, I could probably reach out and touch the cattle, but I value my life, so let’s call it an intangible), and the peace I feel every time I’m out on the ranch riding with my cowboy while he drives the mule all around the property checking things out.

There’s so many more things that make me happy. And I’m sure ya’ll will hear about them as we go along with this blog.

This post has been part of the Happiness Is… Blog Hop hosted by Rub Some Dirt On It.

Leave a comment